Sunday, October 21, 2018
Get Adobe Flash player

Facebook ‘blocked’

Posted by pakin On May - 28 - 2014 ADD COMMENTS

16.30 –The Facebook website has been blocked in Thailand on Wednesday afternoon.

Social media users across the country have not been able to access the site since 3pm.

According to telecommunications sources, about 30 million Facebook accounts in the country have been blocked.

After army chief Prayuth Chan-ocha declared a coup to oust the caretaker government on May 22, the military junta has then imposed censorship on the media, blocking access to foreign television networks, restricting what Thai networks can broadcast and blocking hundreds of internet websites.

16.50 –NCPO denies planning to block Facebook services: report

Jos Sor 100 radio station reported that the National Council for Peace and Order denied planning to block Facebook services in Thailand.
The station quoted the NCPO as saying that Facebook was inaccessible in many parts of the country because a serious technical glitch at the main gateway Facebook servers. The station quoted NCPO as saying that the services would resume within 5 pm.

Facebook inaccessible

Posted by pakin On May - 28 - 2014 ADD COMMENTS

Many people complained that they could not access their Facebook pages Wednesday afternoon amid reports that the access to the popular social network would be blocked.

Nation staffs tried and failed to access their Facebook accounts as well after 4 pm.

Facebook is again targeting malware, this time by adding a new notification that will show up on infected users’ computers. If the notification shows up, one of two software options will be displayed depending on the best for the type of issue the user is having.

The notifications — featured below — advise the user that they can remove the detected malware using the recommended product. Those who have their own software or don’t want to run it at the moment, the option exists to skip the installation.

If the user chooses to install the software, it will run in the background while they continue to use the service, and then will uninstall itself after running. If the user doesn’t install the software and the malware is still detected, the notification will show back up later on.

At the moment, Facebook is offering up recommendations to use HouseCall from Trend Micro or F-Secure, dishing up the recommended product best for the user’s issue. In the future, other anti-virus software options will also be offered.

Facebook launches friend-tracking feature

Posted by Rattana_S On April - 22 - 2014 ADD COMMENTS

(CNN) — Your phone always knows where you are. And now, if you want, your Facebook friends will always know where you are, too.

Facebook is introducing a mobile feature called Nearby Friends that taps into that steady stream of location information so friends can track each other in real time.

The idea is to make it easy for people to meet up in real life, so they can have conversations in person instead of comment threads, temporarily replacing Likes and LOLs with eye contact and actual laughter. A live meet-up is also an excellent opportunity to grab a selfie with your pal and upload it to the Facebook owned Instagram.

In a refreshing change, the new Nearby Friends feature is not turned on by default.

Friends will not be able to see where you are unless you decide live-tracking is something you want in your life and visit Facebook’s settings to turn it on. Making a potentially invasive new feature opt-in suggests Facebook has perhaps learned from some of its past mistakes and privacy problems.

You can choose to share your general location with all your Facebook friends, close friends or a customized list of people you feel most comfortable with. Further minimizing the potential stalking factor, your location is only shared with other people who are also using the feature and who have chosen to share their location with you.

When turned on, Nearby Friends shows a list of approved Facebook friends who also use the feature and shows their approximate location. A push notification can tell you how many of your friends are nearby. Open the app to see a list of pals, the neighborhood or city where they are, how many miles away that is from your current location, and a time stamp of when they where there.

There is an option to share your exact location with specific friends, which can be handy for coordinating large groups at concerts or finding someone in a crowded area. Your friends will see a little image of your face on a map for a set period of time.

Nearby Friends will be available on Facebook’s iOS and Android apps, but will only work for select locations at first.

Facebook, Instagram and many other apps already include features that let people “check-in” to locations, but those location features are different because you decide if and when to share each specific location. You might check into a Starbucks downtown, but never into your home or other spot you’d rather keep private. Nearby Friends is continuously gathering details about where you are in the background instead of waiting for a manual check-in.

This is not the first time an app has used location information to physically connect friends. Similar apps such as Highlight, which got a flurry of attention in 2012, mapped out the locations of nearby strangers. Facebook also purchased a startup in 2012 called Glancee that also connected strangers. That technology evolved into this new, more private feature.

If you turn on the Nearby Friends feature, Facebook starts collecting data on your exact location and keeps details on where you’ve been in the past, not just places where you’ve used its app to check in. It also collects location information even when the Facebook app is closed.

But you can turn off this location history in the Facebook app’s settings. It’s possible to delete individual locations from a history, or clear the whole thing and start from scratch.

TAG CLOUD