Saturday, January 25, 2020
Get Adobe Flash player

Nationwide flood toll: 762 deaths

Posted by arnon_k On December - 26 - 2011

More than 20,000 villages in 22 provinces have since Nov 2 been declared disaster areas suffering from cold weather, the Disaster Relief and Mitigation Department said on Monday.

The 22 provinces are Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Mae Hong Son, Phrae, Uttaradit, Phitsanulok, Nan, Tak, Phayao, Lampang, Lamphun, Sakon Nakhon, Loei, Nong Khai, Nakhon Phanom, Ubon Ratchathani, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Kalasin, Buri Ram, Suphan Buri and Ratchaburi.

A total of 2,744 villages in 70 districts of six provinces in the upper part of the country – Ayutthaya, Lop Buri, Nakhon Pathom, Pathum Thani, Nonthaburi and Bangkok – are still affected by flooding. The accumulated death toll was 752, the department said.

In the South, Phatthalung, Trang, Surat Thani, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Songkhla, Yala and Pattani provinces are also sufferring from floods. The death toll in the region was 10.

Leave a Reply